Real Life, Relationships

Life: 10 Year Anniversary

Recently, my husband and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary. I still can’t believe we’ve been together for a decade now. It only felt like we got married recently.

I took the day off and ended up scheduling some eye exams for the both of us since we haven’t had new glasses in at least 5 years. I had booked a 9am and 9:20am appointments for the both of us. The day actually started good but about 20 minutes into town, I realized that I forgot something. So we had to drive all the way back home. My husband was pretty irritated about this. Especially when we finally did get to the eye doctor (which was inside the mall), we were in time for my appointment at 9:20am but totally missed his. I talked to one of the staffs who said that since the pandemic, they’ve been fully booked and they almost can no longer do walk-ins. There was a few appointments after me so my husband wasn’t able to see someone right away. Luckily only one person showed up for their appointment so my husband was able to be seen at 10am, an hour after his original scheduled appointment. Both of us got new glasses and my VSP insurance did us good as we managed to save over $1k.

We wanted to try an all-you-can-eat sushi place that’s about an hour away. That was going to be our anniversary gift to each other. We’ve been to a few all-you-can-eat sushi places before so we figured it would be similar. However, unfortunately, this was one of the more expensive places we’ve been to at almost $30 each and it was only for sushi rolls (and not even all of them). The price include all-you-can-eat sushi rolls plus 2 “appetizers” each that weren’t very palatable. It doesn’t even include drinks or desserts. My husband loves sashimi and nigiri. The place didn’t have nigiri at all and sashimi was not included in the all-you-can-eat menu. So it was kind of disappointing. We picked some really good rolls though. The waitress was trying to be helpful and suggested her favorite. It sounded yummy on paper but it was not good. I couldn’t stomach it at all. But unfortunately, they have a waste fee of 75 cents per roll you don’t eat. It wasn’t a good experience for me. In the end, we only ate about $80 worth of sushi rolls and we paid about $80 (this include tips) so we broke even. We did reminisce about the all-you-can-eat sushi place we used to live near when we lived in Kansas. We thought about making a trip out there for the sushi but saw that it was closed. So sad!

Our plan after sushi was for my husband to drop me off at the spa to get some massages while he goes to watch Shang-Chi at the movie theater. However, I didn’t feel that great after having sushi so I decided to save my spa trip for another day. We went to a movie theater nearby and it was actually a pretty nice one that had recliner lounge chairs. We paid $30 total which is a lot for a matinee movie but times have changed. It was very comfortable and there were less than 15 people total in the theater. The movie was pretty good. I always enjoy Awkafina’s characters in every movie she’s in.

After the movies, we made our way home by stopped by the local Asian store that’s close to our town to fill up on soy milk and pho noodles. My husband had a few chores once we got home and I caught up with some work-related issues. I also received a package I’ve been waiting for but was really bummed out about what I received. For dinner, I made a yummy stir-fry dish which consisted of: pork rib tips, yellow, orange, and red peppers, jalapenos, mushrooms, onions, green onions, and cilantro. It was pretty good. My husband and I watched a few videos from Canto Mando before calling a night.

1 thought on “Life: 10 Year Anniversary”

Leave a comment